Originally, this is a castle built between 1463–1468 by Jaroš of Svojovice. From this period, a distinctive stone tower has been preserved. At that time, the castle was the center of a relatively large estate, which in the second half of the 16th century was held by the Berka of Dubá family.
During their time and that of other owners, the original castle underwent a significant Renaissance reconstruction, possibly completed at the beginning of the 17th century. The final late Renaissance phase of the reconstruction took place under Vilém Slavata of Chlum. In this form, the château survived until the mid-18th century, when in 1746 it was acquired by the Příchovský family of Příchovice. Under Jan Příchovský, in 1767, a new Church of St. Wenceslas was built within the château grounds. At that time, changes were also made to the exterior appearance, especially the open arcades.
The current Neo-Renaissance appearance was designed by architect Josef Schulz for Marie of Waldstein-Wartenberg. In 1917, Stránov Castle was purchased by Josef Šimonek (president of the Škoda Works in Plzeň, senator). Currently, the owner of the castle is Ing. Jaromír Šimonek, his great-grandson.
Exhibition Description
Castle interiors
Basic guided tour: hall with a Gothic chapel, collection of butterflies and beetles, collection of historic dolls and prams, fascinating modifications made for a children’s home – toilets and showers in the château’s representative spaces, renovated interiors – replicas of historical furniture + Gothic tower with a viewpoint.
Tower
Independent visit: Gothic tower with viewpoint, Renaissance arcades, outer bailey (parkán).
Chateau